Edit ModuleShow Tags

Style / REAWAKEN

A Buff State Runway winner addresses waste in the fashion industry



 

This year’s Buff state Runway fashion show theme, REawakening, required students to connect with real world issues and confront the need for change. The winning collection by Landon Moreis was inspired by a trip to China, led by Buffalo State fashion faculty Lynn Boorady and Erin Habes and fiber arts faculty Jozef Bajus. Moreis visited factories in China and was shocked by the amount of waste caused by mass production. Fast fashion is a major concern; according to Fast Company, “The fashion industry churned out 100 billion pieces of clothing for seven billion people in 2015. The problem is so bad, some brands are burning unsold inventory.” Moreis states, “Seeing the factories and working conditions in China inspired me to use only recycled textiles. I wanted to give old clothes new purpose.” Moreis’s collection was created solely from donated T-shirts; each garment consists of four T-shirts. Moreis is speaking to a new generation who cares about environmental impact, but also likes the look and feel of upcycling. The collection is also a strong representation of Moreis’ fashion design and fiber arts background.

 

Model Amya Bishop @gosstontape

 

Model Flora Adams @flora_adams

 

Model Isobel Douglas @isobeldouglas

Model Jacob Vogan @jacobvogan

 

Model Bakary Diallo @prince_kary

 

Style editor:

Erin Habes @erinhabes

Photographer:

Luke Copping @lukecopping

Designer:

Landon Moreis @landonmoreis, landonmoreis.com

Stylist:

Serena Orlando @serenaoooo

Hair and makeup:

Ted McKnight @forestofgold716

 

 

Edit ModuleShow Tags

Recommended Reads

  1. In the field / Mindful eating at Moriarty Meats
    A commitment to local meats and French butchery makes this shop stand out
  2. Cheap Eats / Montes Deli & Grocery
    Where to get an Impossible pastelillo
  3. Inclusive cooking
    Accommodating dietary restrictions
  4. The Dirt / When gardens are front and center
    It can cause a neighborhood uproar
  5. The purpose of baking
    Madeleines, memories, and mistakes: it’s a process

Add your comment:
Edit ModuleEdit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags

Trending Now

  1. BuffaloSpree.com's Recipe of the week: Shrimp Sauteed with Tomato, Garlic and Fines Herbs
  2. Long Story Short: Hot, noisy summer nights
    6/29/20
  3. Onstage / No asterisks required
    A conversation about the 19–20 theater season
  4. Take-out.2: 100 Acres
    Delivering its farm-to-customer promise in new ways
  5. Style / Go outside and play
    Hiking: It's all about the shoes