This year’s Buff state Runway fashion show theme, REawakening, required students to connect with real world issues and confront the need for change. The winning collection by Landon Moreis was inspired by a trip to China, led by Buffalo State fashion faculty Lynn Boorady and Erin Habes and fiber arts faculty Jozef Bajus. Moreis visited factories in China and was shocked by the amount of waste caused by mass production. Fast fashion is a major concern; according to Fast Company, "The fashion industry churned out 100 billion pieces of clothing for seven billion people in 2015. The problem is so bad, some brands are burning unsold inventory." Moreis states, "Seeing the factories and working conditions in China inspired me to use only recycled textiles. I wanted to give old clothes new purpose." Moreis’s collection was created solely from donated T-shirts; each garment consists of four T-shirts. Moreis is speaking to a new generation who cares about environmental impact, but also likes the look and feel of upcycling. The collection is also a strong representation of Moreis’ fashion design and fiber arts background.

 

Style / REAWAKEN

Model Amya Bishop @gosstontape

 

Style / REAWAKEN

Model Flora Adams @flora_adams

 

Style / REAWAKEN

Model Isobel Douglas @isobeldouglas

Model Jacob Vogan @jacobvogan

 

Style / REAWAKEN

Model Bakary Diallo @prince_kary

 

Style editor:

Erin Habes @erinhabes

Photographer:

Luke Copping @lukecopping

Designer:

Landon Moreis @landonmoreis, landonmoreis.com

Stylist:

Serena Orlando @serenaoooo

Hair and makeup:

Ted McKnight @forestofgold716

 

 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.